Where am I?

Directions: ” For this assignment create a place by just using sound. For example, make the listener know where they are if outside use birds, cars, etc. You can get sounds from https://freesound.org “

Behind the Story: For this assignment I was not sure where I wanted to recreate. I decided to look at what kinds of places other people have done. I noticed that a majority of theme were either in the forest or out in the wilderness somewhere. I decided to deviate from the idea of being somewhere static and chose a moving location. I will give the answer when explaining my process.

Can you figure out where I am?

Narrating the Process: For this assignment I had to create a sense of being somewhere while only using sounds. In case you didn’t figure it out I chose a ship sailing in the ocean. In order to create this audio clip I went to freesound.org in search of possible sounds I could use. I was able to find a sound that was a creaking floorboard. However, I thought with the right context that it could sound like a wooden ship. Next I needed some wind because I thought the sound of winding blowing across your ears would sound pleasant. The final sound I needed for my ensemble was water. I found an audio clip that had both wind and waves splashing. Since I already had some wind picked out I needed to adjust some things. I used a program called Audacity in order to put all these sounds together. I had never used Audacity before and I would not have been able to complete this assignment had it not been for this tutorial. With this tutorial I was able to make all the sound clips the same length. Next I used the envelope tool to adjust the volume of each clip individually. This came in handy with the wind I had mentioned earlier. In order to compensate for the wind that came with the waves I made the preferred wind much louder in sections so the audience could hear exactly what I was wanting. This project was fun and I definitely wouldn’t mind doing another like it.

Leave a comment